Wednesday, June 27, 2007
Gggrrr....
WHY is it so difficult to find good fanfiction? I've just sat here until.. *looks at watch* 1:15am looking for good, non-LotR-related fanfic (I've been looking for good LotR fanfic for the last eight months so I fancied a change) and I've found nothing! Nada, zilch, zero. Oh there were one or two random slashy 'Perfect Murder' fics and one good-storyline-idea-but-absolutely-terrible-writing Gone In Sixty Seconds one, but those took nearly an hour and a half to find. Why doesn't someone make a GOOD version of ff.net, with a 'No Mary-Sues' rule? Is there one out there that I can't find? If there is, then why haven't I found it? Gggrrr.....One more little rant: Why, on ff.net, do people say "R&R!!!!!" with about ten exclaimation marks? If someone is asking me to review before I've even finished reading the summary then I automatically dismiss the fic as some useless heap of junk and move on. A summary is to tell you what the fic is about. Not to beg for reviews. In fact I try to make a point of *not* asking for reviews, just being grateful to people when I get them. I love feedback as much as any fanfic author, but if I have to go round prompting people for it then maybe I should spend more time improving my writing so people review *without* encouragement than waste time convincing people to say what they think of the fic. If my writing isn't good enough to make people hit a button and type a few words then will saying: "R&R!!!!!!!!!!!!!" make ANY difference at all? Apparently, by the amount of reviews some terrible Mary-Sues on ff.net has, it will. Okay, rant over. I definitely needed to get that out of my system and now I'm heading bed-wards. Night!
Monday, June 25, 2007
Just...
Just passing time until No Mercy starts. If I don't do something I'm gonna fall asleep and watching Erin Brockovich is not enough to stop my brain shutting down at this time of night. Morning. Whatever.Was just watching Hannibal and it reminded me of something we were talking about in media during the week. The subject of Hannibal Lecter came up - can't remember how - and my friend Charly was saying that even though he's evil, you really want to like him. After just watching the last half hour or so of Hannibal again just now I can see what she means; you know he's evil but he seems such a..... I don't know, intelligently funny person? I can't think of the right words for it, but when I mentioned to my brother what a cool character Hannibal is, he gave me his DVD of Silence of the Lambs and said "Watch that then you'll see how evil he is." So I've got to watch Silence of the Lambs sometime this week, if I can steal the TV off my dad and all his golf. *rolls eyes* Golf, golf, golf, drives me mental honestly.....Another thing I need to do. Read Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal when I get the time. Are they worth reading? Trouble is I have so many books to read at the moment that I can't settle down to just one book. A few months ago it was the opposite and I had nothing to read. Why can't it even out instead of masses of books descending on me at once? I'm still only three books into T'he Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy' which I've been dying to read for ages. Every time I pick it up something distracts me *glares around*Damn Julia Roberts kicks ass in this movie. I love Erin Brockovitch. It was the first movie I'd seen for months that had me glued to the screen. I also loved the fact it's based a real-life. Don't know why, that always seems to make a movie better for me, knowing that something similar actually happened.Now I'm rambling on to pass time. If I drink anymore coffee I'll be bouncing off the walls - but knowing me falling asleep at the same time. I'll go off and make another desktop background on Photoshop, just to stop me dozing off.I've read back that last paragraph and it pretty much confused me. Definitely time to go now.
Ach...
.. rain, rain and more rain. I know I complained about the heat all summer but freezing cold rain all day is going slightly too far the other way. Snow on the other hand..... what I would give for snow.......As soon as I get the energy to get off my chair, stop watching the Sabrina marathon and go upstairs I'll paint in nice, normal acylics. Still irritated at the oil pastels. Grrr.Ah the bliss of half term. Got Media and Classics homework, but nothing that's really difficult. Do it later in the week. Except I can't do what I usually do and leave it all till the last day because the last day is my birthday and I don't want to do homoework then *sighs* Definitely wish I could ban homework.Went to see Lilo and Stitch again yesterday, as you may be able to tell from the icon. That is honestly a great film *hugs Stitch* I'm going to Disneyland in January and I can see myself coming back with thousands of Stitch teddies. *grins* Along with thousands of Eeyore teddies too of course."He will be irresistibly drawn to large cities, where he will back up sewer systems, reverse street signs and steal everyone's left shoe."*shakes head* I want a little blue Stitch to steal everyone's left shoe!!We filmed the most fantastic little movie in Media Studies on Friday - a vampire making coffee. Sounds effects, costumes, make-up, you name it we had it. Ah that was fun. We're filming something new after half term. Damn I love Media Studies.Now I'm off to paint, and doodle and generally waste time which I should be using to fic, but never mind. As long as I'm having fun. ;)
Sunday, June 24, 2007
Saturday, June 23, 2007
And..
.. another icon.And a part of my converstion with gavin/Daniel. One of the normal parts. Sort of.All My Life I've been searching for something, Something never comes, Never leads to Nothing says:*hugs.....Elves Sho Cudly. Everyfink sho cudly. Whups. Fellover says:*hugs back*Elves Sho Cudly. Everyfink sho cudly. Whups. Fellover says:yey!! hugathon!!All My Life I've been searching for something, Something never comes, Never leads to Nothing says:no! hug festElves Sho Cudly. Everyfink sho cudly. Whups. Fellover says:YEY! hug fest!*shakes head* Don't know why, that just struck me as odd enough to post here. Nevermind.
Icons!!
Just started messing round on Photoshop earlier and came up with some cool icons without really thinking about it - now my problem is I have too many and I want to use them all at once *sighs*Half term!! Finally maybe I'll have time to actually get some stuff done. My birthday is a week on Sunday...... the day before we go back to college *sighs*. Still it is my birthday soon! *dances happily*Talking to Lucy and Gavin a.k.a. Daniel and they're having an argument about stubble Someone, please, save me!!!! The fic I was complaining about because it went on too long finally got finished. Woohoo. I hate oil pastels. Give me acrylic paint anyday. Oil pastels just....... ggrrrrrr. Just very annoying. Hopefully getting watercolours for my birthday. Yey!! A year ago I hated watercolours, now I want them. *sighs* No doubt I'll get them and then hate them, but it'll be fun finding out if I hate them.I'm not even making sense to myself now so I'm gonna go and get some sleep before Raw.
Monday, June 18, 2007
*giggles*
Just ahd to post again to use this icon - doesn't look as good this small as it does full size. But it's still cute!! ^-^COuldn't be bothered finishing the essay. Do it in the morning.
Sunday, June 17, 2007
Should be...
.... finishing my Pschology essay right now, but I'm fed up of eye-witness testimony. plus the fact he just dumped it on us this afternoon. Got to the end of the lesson, we were all packing up and he says: "How're you all doing with the esssay?" And we just stared at him blankly and went, "What essay?" I swear he had not mentioned it at all. He wants it in tomorrow. Gah, men.Speaking of men my dad keeps asking me to get up and get him a beer. *raises eyebrows in father's direction*. Bad enough he's watching football, now he wants beer too? get real. Ah Wales just scored. Go us.Now that is what I need - the welsh flag as an icon. Will do it in half term when I have time. Two days of college then a week of blissful sleep, net and ficcing. I love just sitting in front of my computer doing nothing - does that mean I'm lazy? Hhm.As for world affairs at the moment, if I get started I'll never stop - I can rant at length on this topic at the moment. Suffice to say: is it THAT difficult for people to just *get along* with each other? Is any of this nessecary? The simple answer is 'no'. I get so irritated that people don't understand this simple concept of *accepting* something and not attacking it just because it's different. Now I'm going to shut up before I go into full rant-mode.To lighten the mood I would just like to say 'I love Media Studies'. We're going to Disneyland Paris for three days next January, we went to see The Bourne Identity (missing an afternoon of college to do so) and we're probably going to end up going to see the new James Bond film. Our homework over half term is to study an Action/Adventure movie so I'm leaning towards X-Men because sadly I think it could be difficult to class LotR as Action/Adventure. I could try...... but hey, X-Men is the easy option *and* it has Hugh Jackman. Definitely worth it.*shrieks happily* I figured out the different-icon thing!! Now I just need to upload some new icons....... but no, must-do-essay-dammit.I absolutely HAVE to do more on Heaven and Hell soon but this insane idea just took me by surprise the other day.... now I'm dying to finish it so it looks like the next chapter of Heaven and Hell has no chance of getting out before Halloween. *sighs* Sorry Vig.Also would like to say: the Sims Unleashed is much cool. However my cats keep trying to eat my fish - basically like my real-life cat. *grins* I named the dog belonging to my Fellowship family Haldir...... I have no idea why. Just felt like sharing that tidbit of information.Now I'm stalling because I don't want to finish my essay. *sighs* I must go and dive back into 'factors affecting eye-witness testimony'. Crazy Psychology.
Thursday, June 14, 2007
*waves her fi...
*waves her fist threateningly at LiveJournal, muttering about icons*Arrgh. My brain hurts from trying to work something out on a weekend. I think I'll have to go play on Sims instead. *points at icon* Innit cute? *cuddles Stitch*
*waves her fi...
*waves her fist threateningly at LiveJournal, muttering about icons*Arrgh. My brain hurts from trying to work something out on a weekend. I think I'll have to go play on Sims instead. *points at icon* Innit cute? *cuddles Stitch*
*sighs*
Typed a lovely long entry earlier, then the page refused to load and I lost it. That's life.Hey, I enjoyed Raw tonight - first time in weeks! *pauses* What weird storyline are they starting with Kane now? he killed someone? Well that's.... different, and I was complaining they never did anything different. I'll have to wait and see how it turns out before deciding what I think of it. I do have one rant about Raw though - the TLC match. Good match, hey I love TLC matches, but for me they are very definitely P.P.V. matches. Having them on Raw and Smackdown is not something I believe in. You can't have a match like that on weekly shows without the idea becoming stale. Save it for when a special kind of match is needed. Add the fact it's one of the more dangerous kinds of matches anyway...... What else did I want to say? Oh yeah - saw Lilo & Stitch earlier and I loved it. We were surrounded by loads of little kids in the cinema but I think I was making more noise than any of them. *looks sheepish* Definitely still a kid at heart. But Stitch is so adorable!! *steals Stitch and hides him under her bed* "It's okay; my dog found the chainsaw." Trust me to remember that line.No! Heath Ledger's dying in the Patriot. I knew there was a reason I didn't want to watch this movie. Ah Mel Gibson onscreen. Why didn't I want to watch it again?Watched a bit of a rugby match earlier and realised just how vicious that game actually is. Then I thought of the Inmates playing it. Then I came up with Inmates vs the Fellowship and got the giggles. My money would totally be on the Inmates. Poor Fellowship.
Quizzes are...
.... far too time consuming. And I have no time, yet I still do them. Why??? I think I'm addicted.Really just wanted to update this to use the Eeyore icon. I love Eeyore. Gimme Eeyore over Tigger and Pooh anyday.I think that is basically all I have to say today. Interesting day huh? Lots happened it just isn't interesting enough to type.Clo
Tuesday, June 12, 2007
Sleepy...
Yep. 7am is as evil as I predicted.Anyway, don't have Psychology tomorrow which means 2 hours of wandering round finding stuff to do. Hhhm. I hate typing fics in the LRC though because I don't like being surrounded by people while I type. I don't know why really, I just never have. *pauses* I do have stuff to type though, so maybe I should....... Vig-muse still looking all lonely. Poor little baby.I hate fics that seem to go on and on and never get to the point. But I love fics that go on and on and are interesting every chapter. I think I'm difficult to please. It's just something I started reading back when it was on chapter 3 and was really good, has now just hit 36 chapters and the last five chapters seem to have gone in circles. Maybe I just haven't been paying attention, but I think it would have been a better fic if it had stopped rambling so much. *pauses again* Okay I think I could probably take my own advice on that. But if it doesn't get better soon I'll have to stop reading it which is a shame because it started out really well.You know, you think you've seen all the good fic ff.net has to offer (lets face it; the choice is limited) then you find something absolutely brillant like Bagenders. Maybe ff.net is useful after all.I think I need to think about what I want to say before rambling on and on so much.Then again, rambling is kinda fun. ^-^
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)